Printer Version

The Waterfront Center announces winners of the 2008

“Excellence on the Waterfront” Program

 Top Honor Award

              • Zhongshan Shipyard Park Zhongshan, Guangdong Province, China.         

The Waterfront Center launched the “Excellence on the Waterfront” Awards Program in 1987 to recognize high quality waterfront work of varied kinds to encourage communities, developers and design firms to strive for well-designed undertakings. Entries are taken from around the world and for both projects and plans.  In 1993, the Center established the Clearwater Award to recognize voluntary, grassroots efforts by citizens. The award was named for the project Clearwater, an educational, environmental clean-up and cultural non-profit organization focused on the Hudson River founded by folksinger and activist, Pete Seeger.

For each winner, an entrant and co-entrant are listed, usually the project/plan sponsor and lead design firm. For Clearwater citizen's awards, the recipient and nominator are listed.

The 2008 awards are listed by category.



Zhongshan Shipyard Park Zhongshan, Guangdong Province, China.

Entrants: Kongjian Yu, Turenscape, Beijing, China
Zheng Gang, Government of Huang Yan District, Taizhone City, Zhejiang Province, China.




Category: Artistic, Cultural and Educational:

Boston Children’s Museum, Boston, Massachusetts.

Entrants: Peter Kuttner, Cambridge Seven Associates, Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Neil Gordon, Boston Children’s Museum, Boston, Massachusetts


The Grand Excursion 2004, Multiple states of the Upper Mississippi River.

Entrants: Patrick Seeb, Grand Excursion Inc., St. Paul, Minnesota.
Peggy Knapp, Hamline University Center for Global Environmental Education, St. Paul, Minnesota.


Category: Environmental Protection and Enhancement:

Shangri La, Orange, Texas.

Entrant: Tary Arterburn, MESA, Dallas, Texas.


• Sidestream Elevated Pool Aeration Project, Chicago, Illinois.

Entrants: The Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, Chicago, Illinois.
Ken Johnson,Greeley & Hansen, Chicago, Illinois.


Category: Commercial/Mixed Use:



• Historic Arkansas Riverwalk (HARP) of Pueblo, Pueblo, Colorado.

Entrants: Steve Arveschoug, The HARP Authority, Pueblo, Colorado.
Donald Brandes Jr., Design Studios West, Inc., Denver, Colorado.


Category: Park/Walkway/Recreational


• Prince Memorial Greenway, Santa Rosa, California.

Entrants: T. Keith Gurnee, RRM Design Group, San Luis Obisco, California, Wayne Goldberg, City of Santa Rosa, California



• Falls Park and Liberty Bridge, Greenville, South Carolina.

Entrants: Rosales + Partners, Boston, Massachusetts.
Mayor Knox White, City of Greenville, South Carolina.


• Harborside Fountain Park, Bremerton, Washington.

Entrants: Michael Zilis, Walker Macy, Portland, Oregon.
Gary Sexton, City of Bremerton, Washington.


Category: Long-Range Plans:



• The Marquette Plan: Indiana’s Vision for Lakeshore Reinvestment, Northwestern Indiana.

Entrants: John Swanson, Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission, Portage, Indiana.
A.J. Monroe, JJR, LLC, Chicago, Illinois.


• A Civic Vision for the Central Delaware, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Entrants: Nando Micale, Wallace Roberts & Todd, LLC, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
Andrew Altman, Office for Planning and Economic Development, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


Category:  Student Awards:


• The Learning Barge Project, Norfolk, Virginia.

Entrants: Phoebe Crisman and Kelly McConnaha on behalf of the
architecture and engineering students of the University of Virginia.


• Westbourne Green Regeneration, London, UK.

Entrant: Matthew Knight, Greenwich University, London, UK.


• Managed Retreat, Coastal Development in an Era of Climate Change.

Entrant: Mary H. Cooper Ellis, Kilmarnock, Virginia.
Thesis of Master of Landscape Architecture Degree, Virginia Tech University.




• Anacostia River Cleanup, Washington, DC.

Robert E. Boone, Anacostia Watershed Society, Washington, DC.

Nominated by: Dorn McGrath, Professor Emeritus, George Washington University, Washington, DC.


The winners of the Waterfront Center’s 22nd annual “Excellence on the Waterfront” awards program were announced in Chicago, Illinois by Jury Chair Jim August, Chief Executive Officer, The Forks North Portage Development Corporation, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.  Serving on the 2008 jury with Mr. August were Jim Brennan, Principal, J.A. Brennan, LLC, Seattle, Washington, Terri-Lee Burger, Partner, Abel Bainnson Butz, LLP, New York, New York, and Mike Burke, partner, King Hershey, PC, Kansas City, Missouri.


The jury deliberated in Cape May, New Jersey for two days in September.  Ann Breen and Dick Rigby are the co-founders and co-directors of the Waterfront Center, organized in 1981.


For additional information and photographs, contact:

Kathleen Ewing

The Waterfront Center

PO Box 32129

Washington, DC 20007

202-337-0356  Fax: 202-986-0448


© 2007 The Waterfront Center
Content and photographs on this site may not be reproduced without express permission from The Waterfront Center.